International Workshop on Mobile Ubiquitous Systems, Infrastructures, Communications, and AppLications (MUSICAL 2016)

Held in conjunction with MobiQuitous 2016
November 28, 2016 - Hiroshima, Japan



Aims: The MUSICAL'16 workshop is a forum to discuss technologies related to future mobile ubiquitous systems, from every possible aspect of information and communication technologies. Since future mobile ubiquitous systems could include a wide range of technologies, including wired and wireless communications, data processing and analytics, mobile and social applications, etc., this workshop accepts all of them to have beneficial discussions related to the upcoming mobile ubiquitous world.

The workshop will be organized in a manner that fosters interaction and exchange of ideas among the participants. Besides paper presentations, time will be allocated to vision or work-in-progress papers that have the potential to stimulate debate on existing solutions or open challenges. This is expected to provide a discussion forum among young researchers and students, which might envision novel ideas that will have a radically different perspective on the current-state.

We solicit original research articles that include new ideas or technologies that promote discussion on future technological innovations from a wide variety of technical seeds.

Topics of this workshop include, but are not limited to:

Important Dates:

Paper submission:
12th Aug. 2016
21st Aug. 2016
(Confy system)
Notification of acceptance:
12th Sep. 2016
21st Sep. 2016
Camera-ready due:
28th Sep. 2016
5th Oct. 2016

  • ad-hoc networks
  • body area networks
  • cloud computing
  • context-aware applications
  • crowd sourcing
  • distributed computing
  • energy-aware computing/systems
  • home gateways/networks
  • internet of things
  • infrastructure technologies
  • location-based/tracking systems
  • mobile applications
  • mobile data management/analytics
  • mobile device architectures
  • mobile user experience
  • multimedia communication/applications
  • network architecture/protocols
  • participatory sensing
  • peer-to-peer computing
  • security and privacy
  • semantic web technologies
  • sensor networks
  • smart environment
  • social network applications
  • software-defined networks
  • ubiquitous devices/middleware
  • vehicular networks/applications
  • wearable computing
  • web-based technologies
  • wireless communications/networks


 To Be Determined.

Submission Instructions And Proceedings


All the submitted manuscripts must be regular papers with max. 6 pages in PDF format and conform to the ACM proceedings format (double-columned pages in 9pt font). For the template, see This site. Submitted papers must not have been published or currently be under consideration for publication at another venue.

All of the submissions will be handled electronically. Each paper will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. The workshop proceedings will be published by ACM. Electronic versions of the papers will be included in the ACM DL and DBLP.

Paper must be submitted with Confy system.


Workshop General Chairs: Kazushige Ouchi
  Toshiba Corporation, Japan
Tomoyuki Yashiro
  Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan
Technical Program Chairs: Yuka Kato
  Tokyo Woman's Christian University, Japan
Takuya Yoshihiro
  Wakayama University, Japan
Demetris Zeinalipour
  University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Technical Program Committee: Asaad Ahmed   Al-Azhar Univ., Egypt
George Chatzimilioudes   University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Panos K. Chrysanthis   University of Pittsburgh, USA
Yu Enokibori   Nagoya University, Japan
Akihiro Fujimoto   Wakayama University, Japan
Manato Fujimoto   NAIST, Japan
Yusuke Fukazawa   NTT Docomo, Japan
Yusuke Gotoh   Okayama University, Japan
Kei Hiroi   Nagoya University, Japan
Shigemi Ishida   Kyushu University, Japan
Katsuhiko Kaji   Aichi Institute of Technology, Japan
Tomoki Kajinami   Okayama University of Science, Japan
Vana Kalogeraki   Athens Univ. of Economics and Business, Greece
Akimitsu Kanzaki   Shimane University, Japan
Daisuke Kasamatsu   Rochester Institute of Technology, US
Hua Lu   Aalborg University, Denmark
Anirban Mondal   Xerox Research Centre Bangalore, India
Kazuya Murao   Ritsumeikan University, Japan
Yoshitaka Nakamura   Future University Hakodate, Japan
Daiki Nobayashi   Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Masayuki Okamoto   Toshiba, Japan
Meng-Shiuan Pan   Tamkang University, Taiwan
Anup Kumar Paul   KDDI Lab., Japan
George Samaras   University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Naoki Shibata   NAIST, Japan
Tetsuya Shigeyasu   Hiroshima Prefectural University, Japan
Masumi Shirakawa   Osaka University, Japan
Lei Shu   Guangdong University of Petrochemical Technology, China
Hidekazu Suzuki   Meijyo University, Japan
Hideyuki Takahashi   Tohoku University, Japan
Akira Uchiyama   Osaka University, Japan
Shinya Yamamoto   Tokyo University of Science, Yamaguchi, Japan
Masaaki Yamanaka   Japan Coase Guard Academy, Japan
De-Nian Yang   Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Webmaster: Constantinos Costa
Department of Computer Science
University of Cyprus, Cyprus